HISTORY AND ARCHITECTURE
The area was settled in 1851 by Italian Benedictine Monks. The Monks named the suburb after the town of Subiaco, Italy. Subiaco has a surprising blend of architecture and streetscapes spanning across more than 100 years. Some of the oldest houses are in Park Street; iron roofed timber cottages built in the early 1900s. Many beautiful character homes grace the narrow streets of “Old Subi”. In contrast there is Subi Centro; a modern housing and shopping development centred around the sunken Subiaco railway station and Subiaco Square.
SPORT AND RECREATION
Lords Recreation has multiple indoor courts catering for basketball, soccer, volleyball, netball, tennis and squash. Lords also has an indoor pool, spa and gym. Gym facilities can also be found at Fitness First, Plus Fitness 24/7 and Fuller Fitness.
The outdoor pool at Subiaco Primary School is open in the hotter summer months and is accessible for a small fee. Two free tennis courts are provided by the council and are located at the southern end of Rokeby Road.
Subiaco is perfectly located for access to several important hospitals; Princess Margaret, King Edward Memorial, St John of God, as well as Sir Charles Gairdner and Hollywood Private in Nedlands and the Mount Hospital in Perth.
Staying in Subiaco? Whether its short, medium or long term accommodation, why not contact Dowler Apartments.